Claiming the night

Not far from the metro station in Delhi’s downtown Connaught Place, the incessant hustle bustle of a weekday evening stopped for a while. Office goers, tourists, vendors and shoppers stood still, much like the majestic white Edwardian columns near them. They were stopped in their tracks by the sight of a few women who walked in slow motion and asked aloud in chorus: “Can I? Can I walk on the street at 12 midnight? Should I? Should I lie in the park? I should. I can.”

 http://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/Delhi/claiming-the-night/article4800789.ece

Leave a Reply

