A Theory of Violence: In Honor of Kasandra, CeCe, Victoria, Savita and Anonymous

A few weeks ago, a young Indian woman went to the movies. On her way home she took a bus on which she was raped and brutally assaulted by six men. We don’t know the name of this 23-year-old student.  We do know that  she was tortured so badly that she lost her intestines and needed numerous operations. Six people – including the bus driver – have been arrested. On Friday, December 28 she died.

I don’t know her name. I don’t have an adequate response, but I feel I should say something. Because I was born in the city where she were assaulted. Because so many, too many, experience such violence. Because I spend most of my waking hours thinking about how we can create a world where women are safe. Because she wanted to live.

http://www.crunkfeministcollective.com/2013/01/04/a-theory-of-violence-in-honor-of-kasandra-cece-victoria-savita-and-anonymous/

Leave a Reply

